Friday, May 21, 2010

Craig and Janet Swan Composer Prize

Application Deadline: June 30, 2010 (receipt)

The School of Music of the University of Minnesota is pleased to announce the 2010 Craig and Janet Swan Composer Prize, a National Competition for New Works for Mixed Chorus.

The generosity, vision and abiding interest in music as a living art on the part of Craig and Janet Swan have come together in the establishment of an annual competition for music for large ensembles, the Craig and Janet Swan Composer Prize. This competition, underwritten by the Swans, is administered by the School of Music at the University of Minnesota, where Dr. Swan served as Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education.

The competition is held in a continuing three-year cycle of music for Chorus, Wind Ensemble, and Orchestra in rotation.

2009 Orchestra: prize of $2,500

2010 Chorus: prize of $1,500

2011 Wind Ensemble: prize of $2,000

The single prize-winning work will receive a monetary award, and its world premiere by the appropriate large ensemble of the School of Music University Singers. The prize- winning work will be announced in September 2010 and will be awarded publicly at the time of the premiere performance in Spring 2011. In addition, the School of Music will invite the composer of the winning work to the Twin Cities campus for rehearsals, composer master class, and to be present at the premiere performance.

Contest Guidelines and Application Form are available at: